The Iowa Peace Officers Memorial, located on the Iowa State Capitol Grounds honors Iowa peace officers who have died in the line of duty. Friday, May 17, 2017, Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds hosted a ceremony adding four new names to that ever growing list.  The new names added this year were Shawn Miller, Justin Martin, Anthony Beminio and Thomas Griffin (who died in 1923). The ceremony also recognized all Iowa peace officers of all times who lost their lives in the line of duty.  Addendum: Here it is just a few days later--It is now Amb.(China) Branstad and Gov. Reynolds. Congratulations and thank you both for your continued service to Iowa.

Ray "Bubba" Sorenson has the ambitious goal of painting a Freedom Rock in all 99 counties. I have featured some of them before. Here are a few more I visited in my travels this year.


Boone County--Boone


Sac County--Sac City

Crawford County--Manilla

Calhoun County--Rockwell City

Carroll County--Manning

Hardin County-Ackley

<<Left: The inscription reads:

"The dead soldiers silence sings our National Anthem." Rev. A Kilbourn


Grundy County--Conrad

Tama County--Gladbrook

My view for the month: Each year on Memorial Day we take time to reflect and be thankful for those brave men and women who paid the ultimate sacrifice to protect our freedom--yes-- you could say "they died for us."  Can you imagine that kind of love?

For God so loved the world, that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. (ESV) (John 3:16)